International Conference on Magnetic Fluids – ICMF 2019

Since 1979 an International Conference on Magnetic Fluids is held every three years. This conference brings together the international scientific community involved in magnetic fluid science, at large, from liquid dispersions to more complex fluids such as magnetorheological fluids, ferrogels, ferronematics, ferropolymers, biocolloidal systems…. The last two conferences were held in New Delhi (India) January 7-11, 2013 and in Ekaterinburg (Russia) July 4-8, 2016.

Next ICMF 15th will take place at Sorbonne Université in Paris (France) July 8-12, 2019. The conference will highlight synthesis and properties of innovative magnetic materials with a special emphasis on societal applications in the domain of energy, environment and biomedical.


  • Advanced design and synthesis of magnetic particles and magnetic fluids
  • Active magnetic colloids and soft magnetic systems
  • Theory, statistical mechanics and modeling of complex magnetic fluids
  • Magnetic and physical properties of ferrofluids and soft magnetic matter
  • Structures and rheology of magnetic fluids and suspensions
  • Mass and energy transfer in magnetic colloids and complex fluids - microfluidic
  • Free surface phenomena and ferrohydrodynamics
  • Bio applications (imaging, drug delivery, magnetic hyperthermia, vectorization, tracking,..)
  • Engineering applications for energy
  • Environmental applications based on magnetic carriers

Plenary speakers

5 high profile speakers are invited to give plenary speeches at ICMF 2019


Limited to 480 attendees: several areas are dedicated to ICMF 2019 including an auditorium and a friendly exhibition space.


2 afterworks will be additional opportunities for you to network and enjoy your stay in Paris!



Dr. Pierre Levitz

Sorbonne Université, France


Prof. Christine Ménager

Sorbonne Université, France


Prof. Régine Perzynski

Sorbonne Université, France


Prof. Teresa Pellegrino

Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy

Prof. Xuanhe Zhao

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Prof. Pietro Tierno

University of Barcelona, Spain

Prof. Bartosz Grzybowski

UNIST, South Korea

Dr. Maxim Nikitin

Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, Russia



Prof. Ronald E Rosensweig

Exxon Corporation, USA

Prof. Mark I. Shliomis

Ben-Gurion University, Israel



Prof. Antonio Martins Figueiredo Neto

Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil

Prof. Andrejs Cebers

University of Latvia, Latvia

Dr. Pavel Kuzhir

Institute of Physics of Nice (INPHYNI), University Côte d’Azur, France

Prof. Yuriy Raikher

Laboratory of Physics and Mechanics of Soft Matter Institute of Continuous Media Mechanics, Russia

Prof. Balachandran Jeyadevan

University of Shiga Prefecture, Japan

Prof. Alexey O. Ivanov

Ural Federal University, Ekaterinburg, Russia

Prof.Claire Wilhelm

CNRS, France

Prof. Sawako NAKAMAE

CEA-CNRS, Université Paris-Saclay, France

Prof. Dominik Lisse

Osnabrück University, Germany

Prof. Bruno Chaudret

INSA Toulouse, France

Prof. Jérôme Depeyrot

Keele University, UK

Prof. Kalioppi Trohidou

NCSR Demokritos, Greece

Prof. Ladislau VEKAS

Center for Fundamental and Advanced Technical Research, Romania

Prof. Eric Falcon

CNRS / Université Paris Diderot, France

Prof. Niel Telling

Keele University, UK

Auditorium – Venue

Awards – Promote Excellence

Poster Session

Plenary – The Best Experts

Social Activity – Networking

Cultural Activity – Networking





Provide us with your suggestions and ideas regarding how to improve the conference and meet your expectations.