ANNIC 2018 conference will gather high-profile Nanotechnology and Nanoscience experts to deliver plenary speeches, more members will be listed soon below.

Prof. Molly Stevens

Department of Materials, Department of Bioengineering and Institute of Biomedical Engineering at Imperial College London, UK

Molly M. Stevens is currently Professor of Biomedical Materials and Regenerative Medicine & Research Director for Biomedical Material Sciences in the Department of Materials, Department of Bioengineering and the Institute of Biomedical Engineering at Imperial College London. She received her PhD from The University of Nottingham in 2000, working within the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences. She conducted her postdoctoral research within the Department of Chemical Engineering at MIT in the labs of Prof Robert Langer, where she co-developed innovative techniques for the regenerative of bone and other tissues. She joined Imperial College in 2004 and was promoted as Professor in 2008. Research in the Stevens Programme focusses on designing and developing innovative bio-inspired materials for applications in regenerative medicine, tissue engineering and biosensing.

Molly Stevens’ research has been recognised by over 20 major awards, such as the 2016 Clemson Award for Basic Research from the Society for Biomaterials, the EU40 Prize for best material scientist under the age of 40, a listing in The Times as one of the top 10 scientists under 40 and the European Life Sciences 2014 Research Group of the Year Award, amongst many others. She was recently elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Academy for Engineering and delivered the Clifford Paterson Lecture for the Royal Society in 2012. She has previously served on the Board of Reviewing Editor for Science and is Associate Editor of ACS Nano. More information on the Stevens Group can be found at

Talk title: Designing Nanomaterials for ultrasensitive biosensing and cell interactions 

Prof. Markus Niederberger

ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Markus Niederberger is Full Professor for Multifunctional Materials in the Department of Materials at ETH Zurich. He concluded his studies of chemistry at ETH Zurich with a diploma in 1996 and continued at the same university to earn his PhD in Chemistry in 2001 with Prof. Reinhard Nesper. From 2001-2002 he worked as a postdoctoral fellow at the University of California, Santa Barbara, USA, with Prof. Galen D. Stucky. He then transferred to the Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces in Potsdam, Germany, where he was a group leader from 2002-2006 in the Colloid Department of Prof. Markus Antonietti. In 2007 he was appointed as an Assistant Professor for Multifunctional Materials at ETH Zurich and in 2012 he was promoted to Associate Professor. His research interests are focused on the development of liquid-phase synthesis routes to inorganic nanoparticles, the study of their formation mechanisms, and their assembly and processing into macroscopic materials with tailored properties and functionalities for applications in energy storage and conversion, optics, gas sensing and (photo)catalysis.

From 2009-2012 Prof. Niederberger was Editor-in-Chief for Nanoscale. He serves as an Advisory Board Member of Journal of Materials Chemistry A, Materials Horizons and ChemPlusChem. Prof. Niederberger published around 200 papers in peer-reviewed journals, a monograph and several book chapters. In 2011 he was listed in the Times Higher Education ranking as a top 100 materials scientists of the past decade according to citation impact. In 2013 and 2017 Prof. Niederberger was awarded the Golden Owl by ETH Zurich’s student association for excellent teaching.

More information on the Laboratory for Multifunctional Materials can be found at

Talk title: Bridging Length Scales: From Nanoparticles to Materials

Prof. Patrice Simon

Paul Sabatier University, France


Distinguished Professor Paul Sabatier University, Toulouse France.
Director of the European Research Institute “ALISTORE ERI” CNRS n°3104 (since 2010) (, developping research on batteries.
Deputy Director of the French Newtwork on Electrochemical Energy Storage (RS2E), FR CNRS n°3104 (

Universite Paul Sabatier, CIRIMAT Laboratory (Materials Science), Toulouse
09/2014 – present Distinguished Professor, Materials Sciences
09/2007 – 08/2014 Professor, Materials Science
09/2001 – 08/2007 Associate Professor of Materials Science
Conservatoire national des Arts et Metiers de Paris (France) – Electrochemistry laboratory
9/1996 – 8/2001 Assistant Professor of Electrochemistry
Current Research Interests: Electrochemistry at the interfaces: materials/nanostructured materials for electrochemical energy storage: electrochemical capacitors, Li-ion batteries.
Scientific production: 170 articles, 11 patents, 8 book chapters
H-factor 59, 29,000 citations (Web of Science, 12/2017)

09/2017 : Senior Member « Institut Universitaire de France » (IUF).
11/2016: Highly Cited Researcher 2016 (
10/2016: Lee Hsun Lecture Award on Materials Science, Chinese Academy of Science
08/2016: Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry
11/2015: Silver Medal of the CNRS.
Oct. 2015: Charles Eichner Medal from French Materials and Metallurgy Society (SF2M)
Feb. 2012 : European Research Council Advanced Grant (5 years).
Feb. 2012 : Excellence Chair of the Airbus group Fondation (5 years).
July 2009 : « Tajima » Prize of the International Society of Electrochemistry.
Sept. 2007 –Junior Member of the « Institut Universitaire de France » (IUF).

Talk title: coming soon

Dr. Peter Krogstrup

Niels Bohr Institute – University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Peter Krogstrup is a Principal Researcher at Microsoft Quantum, Copenhagen and Assistant Professor at the University of Copenhagen. He leads an academic research group under the Project Q Experimental Physics Initiative, which is a collaboration project between the University of Copenhagen and Microsoft. His main research interests are the field between material science and quantum transport with an ambition to produce new materials for future quantum electronic applications. The main part of the work is directed towards hybrid epitaxy of low dimensional semiconductor, superconductor and ferromagnetic insulator materials, for novel quantum state realization.

Talk title: Hybrid epitaxy of semiconductor-superconductor nanowire networks by Molecular Beam Epitaxy

Prof. Jocken Feldmann

LMU Munich, Germany

Jochen Feldmann is leading the Chair for Photonics and Optoelectronics at LMU Munich. His research has been focusing on nano-plasmonics, semiconductor optics and photonic applications of semiconductor nanocrystals. JF worked as a post-doc at AT&T Bell Laboratories (Holmdel, USA) and as a visiting scientist at JILA (Boulder, USA) and UCLA (Los Angeles, USA). He received a series of prestigious awards such as the Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz Prize from the German Science Foundation (DFG), the Walter-Schottky Award from the German Physical Society (DPG), and the Advanced Investigator Grant from the European Research Council (ERC). He co-founded and has led the Energy Initiative Solar Technologies Go Hybrid (SolTech) and the Excellence Research Cluster Nanosystems Initiative Munich (NIM). JF has co-authored more than 360 publications.

Talk title: Halide Perovskite Nanocrystals: from platelets and cubes to supercrystals