Prof. Frank Vollmer

University of Exeter, UK

Frank Vollmer obtained his PhD in ‘Physics & Biology’ from the Rockefeller University NYC, USA, in 2004. He then became leader of an independent research group at the Rowland Institute at Harvard University where he was appointed Rowland Fellow from 2004 to 2009. From 2010 to 2011 he joined the Wyss Institute for Bio-Inspired Engineering at Harvard University as a Scholar-in-Residence. In 2011 he was appointed group leader (untenured associate professor) at the newly established Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen, Germany. Since 2011 he was also appointed as Instructor in Medicine and Associate Bioengineer at Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA, where he directed a satellite laboratory until 2016. Since 2016 he is Professor in Biophysics at the School of Physics, University of Exeter, UK. His laboratory is part of the newly established Living Systems Institute.


The S3IC 2019 Scientific Committee is composed of experienced Professors and Doctors who are in charge of assessing the submitted papers based on the peer review method.

Prof. Anton Belogorlov

National Research Nuclear University Mephi (Moscow Engineering Physics Institute), Russia

Dr. Elisa Castagnola

San Diego State University, USA

Prof. Kimberly Hamad-Schifferli

University of Massachusetts Boston, USA

Prof. Daniel Granados

IMDEA Nanoscience, Spain

Dr. Vipul Sharma

Indian Institute Of Technology Mandi, India

Associate Prof. Meral Yüce

Sabanci University Nanotechnology Research and Application Centre, Turkey

Dr. Eli Rotenberg

New York University School of Medicine, USA

Dr. Sebastien Balme

University Of Montpellier, France

Associate Prof. Yen Nee Tan

Newcastle University, UK

Prof. Ovidiu Florin Caltun

Alexandru Ioan Cuza University Of Iasi, Faculty Of Physics, Romania

Dr. Yoni Toker

Bar-Ilan University, Israel

Assistant Prof. Yoav Shechtman

Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Prof. Martina Gerken

Kiel University, Germany

Ass. Prof. Peter Zijlstra

Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands

Prof. Càndid Reig

University of Valencia, Spain

Dr. Michelle Tan

University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus

Dr. Hamed Ahari
Associate Professor of Food Safety 
Department of Food Science and Technology
Science and Research Branch, Islamic Azad University, Iran

Prof. Francisco J. Arregui

Universidad Pública de Navarra, Spain

Dr. Cristina Martins

i3S (INEB) – Instituto de Investigação e Inovação em Saúde, Univ. of Porto, Portugal

Prof. Syma Khalid

University of Southampton, UK

Prof. Mircea Dragoman

National Research And Development Institute In Microtechnology, Romania

Dr. Denis Garoli

Istituto Italiano Di Tecnologia, Italy

Dr. Emad Kiriakous

Queensland University Of Technology, Australia

Dr. Laura Saa

CIC biomaGUNE, Spain

Dr. Carolina Aliaga

Universidad de Santiago, Chile

Dr. Hagen Hofmann

Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

Prof. Fedor Jelezko

Institute for Quantum Optics, Ulm University, Germany

Prof. Andrei Naumov

Russian Academy of Sciences, Russian Federation

Dr. Joan Giner

Hitachi Research Laboratory, Japan

Prof. Mukhles Sowwan

Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Prof. Kourosh Kalantar-Zadeh

University of New South Wales (UNSW), Sydney, Australia

Prof. Andrea Cusano

Università degli Studi del Sannio, Italy

Dr. Amin Daneshmand Malayeri


Prof. Andong Xia

Institute of Chemistry, China

Prof. Yuri Lyubchenko

University of Nebraska Medical Center, USA

Dr. Christophe Thibault


Prof. Eric Finot

université Bourgogne, France

Dr. Jagpreet Singh

Sri Guru Granth Sahib World University, India

Dr. Sanjay Tiwari

Pt. Ravishankar Shukla University, India

Dr. Melike Lakadamyali

University of Pennsylvania, USA

Prof. Xiaodong Su

Peking University, China

Dr. Eyal Nir

Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Prof. Johan Hofkens

KU Leuven, Belgium

 Dr. Deborah Katia Pallotti

picoBARN s.r.l., Italy

Prof. Stéphane Guilet

Paris Saclay University, France

 Dr. Alexander Trusov

Northrop Grumman Corporation, USA

Dr. Partha Bhattacharyya

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology (IIEST), India