NANOP 2018 conference will gather high-profile Nanophotonics and Micro/Nano Optics experts to deliver plenary speeches:

Prof. Naomi J. Halas

Rice University, USA

Coming soon

Prof. Dieter Bimberg

Technische Universität Berlin, Germany

Dieter H. Bimberg is an internationally highly cited pioneer of novel semi-conductor nanostructures, in particular dots (QDs), as gain or memory materials with size- and shape-dependent characteristics. His discovery of the unusual electronic and optical properties of QDs has enabled to build novel nanophotonic and nanoelectronic devices, like mode-locked lasers, optical amplifiers and VCSELs, thus solving pressing problems of our energy-hungry and security-conscious society. His patent portfolio covering his most important material and device developments contains 30 patent families, many of them sold to world-leading companies. Several start-up companies based on such patents have been founded together with his co-workers. His scientific work was leading to more than 1600 publications, about 30 patents, and 6 books resulting in more than 55,000+ citations worldwide and a Hirsch factor of 104
(@Google Scholar).
His honors include the Russian State Prize in Science and Technology 2001, his election to the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in 2004, to the Russian Academy of Sciences in 2011and to the US National Academy of Engineering in 2014, as Fellow of the American Physical Society and IEEE in 2004 and 2010, respectively, the Max-Born- Award and Medal 2006, awarded jointly by IoP and DPG, the William Streifer Award of the Photonics Society of IEEE in 2010, the UNESCO Nanoscience Medal 2012, the Heinrich-Welker Award and Medal 2015 and three times the “Green Photoniscs Award of SPIE in 2012, 2014 and 205. In 2015 he also received a D. sc h. c. from the University of Lancaster. The National Academy of Inventors elected him as Fellow in 2016. The Chinese Academy of Sciences awarded him an Einstein Professorship in 2017.

Speech title: Coming soon

Prof. Laura Na Liu

Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems, Germany

Coming soon

Prof. Stefan Maier

Imperial College London, UK

Stefan Maier is the Chair in Hybrid Nanosystems at LMU Munich and the Lee-Lucas Chair in Experimental Physics at Imperial College London. A graduate from Caltech, his research in nanoplasmonics received numerous awards, including the Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences and the Paterson Medal of the Institute of Physics.

Speech title: Charge transfer in nanoplasmonics as an avenue for control of chemical SERS enhancement and molecular self-assembly

Prof. Nikolay Zheludev

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

University of Southampton, UK

Nikolay Zheludev, directs the Centre for Photonic Metamaterials at Southampton University, UK and Centre for Disruptive Photonic Technologies at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. He is also deputy director of the Optoelectronics Research Centre at Southampton and co-Director of the Photonics institute at NTU, Singapore. His research interests are in nanophotonics and metamaterials. His personal awards include the Thomas Young Medal for “global leadership and pioneering, seminal work in optical metamaterials and nanophotonics”, Senior Professorships of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (UK) and the Leverhulme Trust and the Royal Society Wolfson Research Fellowship. He was awarded MSc, PhD and DSc from Moscow State University. Professor Zheludev is the Editor-in-Chief of the IOP “Journal of Optics”.

Speech title: Nano-Photonics of Super-Oscillations

Prof. Javier Garcia De Abajo

ICFO, Spain

F. Javier García de Abajo is ICREA Professor and Group Leader at ICFO, Barcelona (Spain). He graduated from the University of the Basque Country, visited Berkeley National Lab as a postdoc, and was a Research Professor at the Spanish Research Council (CSIC). He is Fellow of both the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America. His interests range from surface science and electron microscopy and spectroscopy to nanophotonics and plasmonics. See more details at

Speech title: Coming soon

Prof. Giuseppe Gigli

Istituto NANOTEC, Italy

Coming soon

Prof. Mark Stockman

Georgia State University, USA

Coming soon

Prof. Aristide Lemaitre

CNRS C2N, France

Coming soon

Prof. Gerhard Abstreiter

Technical University of Munich, Germany

Coming soon

Prof. Marc Lamy de la Chapelle

Paris 13 University, France

Prof. Marc Lamy de la Chapelle is professor at the Le Mans University at the Institute of Molecules and Materials of Le Mans (IMMM UMR 6283) since 2017.
Engineer from the Polytechnical school of the University of Nantes, Material sciences speciality (1996), he got his PhD in science physics in 1998 at the University of Nantes on the study of carbon nanotubes by Raman spectroscopy. After two post-doctoral position at the Office National d’Etude et de Recherche en Aéronautique (ONERA) in Paris (Optimisation of the synthesis method of carbon nanotubes by laser ablation, 1998-2000) and at the physics department of the Tsinghua University in Beijing (China) on the study of nanostructures by Raman spectroscopy (2000-2001), he got a position of associate professor at the Université de technologie de Troyes (UTT) in 2001. His research activities were focused on nanooptics (Optical properties of metallic nanoparticles (surface plasmon), near-field optics…) and Raman spectroscopy. He notably worked on Surface Enhanced Raman Scattering (SERS) (effect of the plasmon resonance on the enhancement, enhancement optimisation). From nov. 2007 to aug. 2017, he was professor at the Paris 13 University. His research subject is the application of SERS and TERS to biological problems and more especially to the diagnosis of pathologies. He joined Le Mans University in sept. 2017 to develop some research activities in plasmonics, SERS and sensors.
He manages several research projects at the national and international level. He is notably the coordinator of the Nanoantenna european project including 12 partners on the developement of a nanobiosensor. He is also director of the CNRS national research network on the Molecular Plasmonics and Enhanced Spectroscopies.
He has published more than 100 international publications (more than 5000 citations, h-index = 30), 3 patents and he is editor or co-author of 4 books.

Speech title: Optical properties of metallic nanoparticles: from field enhancement to molecular detection