Prof. Joan Ramon Morante

Catalonia Institute for Energy Research (IREC)


Professor Dr. J.R. Morante was born in Mataró (Spain). Professor Dr. J.R. Morante received in 1980 his Ph. D. in Physics from the University of Barcelona. Since 1986 he is full professor of Electronics, Semiconductor and Device Physics, in the Faculty of Physics in the University of Barcelona where he has been Vice-dean, Dean, Academic Director of the Electronics Engineering studies, and the first head of the department of Electronics. He has also been Barcelona University coordinator of the inter-university Master on Energy Engineering. At November 2008 he joined the Catalonia Institute of Research for Energy, IREC where he is the head of the Advanced Materials and Devices for Energy Area. He is director of the Xarmae, network of the Generalitat of Catalunya on Materials for Energy and Vicepresident of the European Material Research Society. Likewise, he has been member of the advisory board of the Fundació Bosch i Gimpera devoted to the technology transfer and member of the Council of the Serveis Científic-Técnics de la Universitat de Barcelona. He is specialized in the development of renewable energy devices and systems for applications in the field of energy and environment based, mainly, on nano structures and their functionalization. His special attention is focussed on advanced materials and systems for energy storage and energy conversion. He has taken part in more than 35 R&D&I international and industrial projects in the programmes EU frame program as well as in private industrial contracts. He has authored or co-authored more than 600 works in international specialized journals with a factor h=52 (ISI web and SCOPUS) with more of 11.000 citations, more than 12 deposited patents and has supervised more than 35 doctoral theses; he is a member of international committees and editorial teams of journals, and has been guest editor of many special issues. He has been awarded the Narcís Monturiol of the Generalitat of Catalunya, and the “senior research distinction” of the Generalitat of Catalunya.


The ICREN 2018 Scientific Committee is composed of experienced Professors and Doctors who are in charge of assessing the submitted papers based on the peer review method.

Dr. Enrique Romero-Cadaval

University of Extremadura, Spain

Dr. Julio Cárabe


Prof. Nicola Massarotti

Parthenope University of Naples, Italy

Dr. PV Aravind

Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Dr. Muhammad Farooq

Heriot-Watt University, UK

Dr. Subhash Singhal

Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA

Dr. Cristina Alonso-Tristán

University of Burgos, Spain

Prof. Gheorghe-Daniel Andreescu

Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania

Prof. Vincenzo Palma

University of Salerno/Department of Industrial Engineering, Italy

Dr. Stanko Hocevar

National Institute of Chemistry, Slovenia

Prof. Stefano Ubertini

Università degli Studi della Tuscia, Italy

Prof. Yung C. Liang

National University of Singapore, Singapore

Prof. Mark Apperley

University of Waikato, New Zealand

Dr. Amir Safdarian

Sharif University of Technology, Iran

Prof. Pierluigi Leone

Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Prof. Rizalman Mamat

Universiti Malaysia Pahang, Malaysia

Dr. Laurent Antoni

CEA, France

Prof. Marcello Baricco

Università degli Studi di Torino, Italy

Prof. Erik Buchmann

Hochschule für Telekommunikation Leipzig, Germany

Prof. Maria Giovanna Minutillo

University of Naples Parthenope, Italy

Prof. Erdal Bekiroglu

Abant Izzet Baysal University, Turkey

Dr. Brahim Aïssa

QEERI-Qatar Foundation, Canada

Prof. Elias Kyriakides

University of Cyprus, Cyprus

Dr. Sachin Kumar

Sardar Swaran Singh National Institute of Bio-Energy, India

Prof. Arthur W. Weeber

ECN Solar Energy / Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Prof. Igor Konovalov

Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena, Germany

Prof. Yoshitaka Okada

University of Tokyo, Japan

Prof. Essam E. Khalil

Cairo University, Egypt

Dr. Dragan Obradovic

Siemens, Germany

Prof. Vladimir Saly

Slovak University of Technology, Slovakia

Dr. Mehdi Bagheri

Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan

Dr. Riccardo Po

Eni SpA, Italy

Prof. Brayima Dakyo

Université du Havre, France

Dr. Carmen Rangel

Laboratório Nacional de Energia e Geologia, Portugal

Prof. Marcello Romagnoli

Università degli Studi di Modena e Reggio Emilia, Italy

Dr. Alexander Meeder

Geo-en, Germany

Dr. Bruce Nordman

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA

Dr. Jochen Rentsch

Fraunhofer ISE, Germany

Dr. Sjoerd Veenstra

ECN, Netherlands

Dr. Giorgio Graditi

Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development, Italy

Dr. Paola Delli Veneri

ENEA, Italy

Prof. Umberto Desideri

Università degli Studi di Pisa, Italy

Dr. Davide Careglio

Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain

Prof. Stefan Krauter

Universität Paderborn, Germany

Prof. Ahmed Al-Salaymeh

The University of Jordan, Jordan

Dr. Fabio Mottola

Parthenope University of Naples, Italy

Prof. Gianni Bidini

University of Perugia, Italy

Prof. Mauridhi Hery Purnomo

Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember, Indonesia

Prof. Mamadou Lamine Doumbia

University of Quebec, Canada

Prof. Frano Barbir

Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture, Croatia

Dr. John Bögild Hansen

Haldor Topsøe A/S, Denmark

Dr. Taha Selim Ustun

Carnegie Mellon University, USA