Prof. Víctor F. Puntes
ICREA, Spain

ICREA Research Prof Víctor F. Puntes’ work spans the full breadth of nanoparticle research: synthesis, conjugation and characterisation of inorganic nanoparticles; nanotoxicology and nanosafety; and myriad applications for sectors including medicine and the environment.

Prof Puntes completed his undergraduate studies in Chemical Engineering and Materials Science at the Université Louis Pasteur Strasbourg (France) and at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB). In 1998, he earned his PhD in Physics from the Universitat de Barcelona (UB), working with Prof Xavier Batlle and Prof Amilcar Labarta on Giant Magnetoresistance in granular alloys. He then spent more than 3 years at the University of California, Berkeley, and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), in the groups of Prof Paul Alivisatos and Prof Kannan Krishnan, working on the synthesis and control of nanostructures. In 2003 he returned to Catalonia with a Ramón y Cajal research position at the University of Barcelona, and in 2005 obtained an ICREA Professorship at ICN to create the Inorganic Nanoparticles Group, which he presently heads.

By the end of 2013, Prof Puntes held 110 peer-reviewed publications and over 6,000 total citations. He is also well-known for his work in science communication for the general public, his industrial and commercial efforts, and for his endeavours linking science and art.

By the end of 2014, Prof Puntes held 110 peer-reviewed publications and over 7,000 total citations.


The Scientific Committee is composed of experienced Professors and Doctors who are in charge of assessing the submitted papers based on the peer review method.

Dr Ignacio Casuso

BioAFM Lab, France

Prof. Andre G Skirtach

Ghent University, Belgium

Etienne Dague

Dr. Etienne Dague

CNRS, France

Prof. Ibtisam E Tothill

Cranfield University, UK

Prof. Nadine Millot

University of Burgundy, France

Dr. Sijumon Kunjachan

Harvard Medical School, USA

Dr. Fernando Torres Andón

Istituto Clinico Humanitas, Italy

Dr. Rongjun Chen

Imperial College London, UK


Dr. Wafa Al-Jamal

University of East Anglia, UK


Dr. Ruth Schmid

SINTEF, Norway

Prof. Hak Soo Choi

Harvard Medical School, USA

Dr. Challa S. S. R. Kumar

Harvard University, USA

Prof. Claire Billotey

Jean Monnet University, France

Dr Nicolas Bertrand

Laval University, Canada

Dr. Sébastien Balme

Montpellier 2 University, France

Tomasz Puzyn

Dr. Tomasz Puzyn

University of Gdansk, Poland

Dr. Henrique Faneca

Center for Neuroscience and Cell Biology, University of Coimbra, Portugal


Prof. Maria Bryszewska

University of Lodz, Poland

Albana Halili

Dr. Albana Halili

Aleksander Moisiu University of Durres, Faculty of Information Technology, Albania

Prof. Dongyang Li

University of Alberta, Canada

Prof. Vadim Kessler

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden


Dr. Nejat Düzgüneş

University of the Pacific School of Dentistry, USA

Dr. Helena F Florindo

Faculty of Pharmacy University of Lisbon, Portugal

Dr. Eric Lesniewska

University of Burgundy, France

Prof. William Waissmann

Oswaldo Cruz Foundation – São Paulo State University, Brazil

Prof. Mariano Venanzi

University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy

Dr. Stéphane Roux

University of Franche-Comté, France

Prof. Zofia Lipkowska

Institute Of Organic Chemistry, Polish Academy Of Sciences, Poland

Dr. Christophe Moreau

 Institut de Biologie Structurale, France